Skip to product information
1 of 1

Meic Stevens

Love Songs

Love Songs

Regular price £2.99 GBP
Regular price Sale price £2.99 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


Recorded throughout 2009, Love Songs is the new album from the much loved Welsh singer-songwriter Meic Stevens. All in English, the songs were written between 1959, when Meic was just 18 years old and had just begun writing songs and poetry, and 2009 when some songs were written during the recording sessions. Most of the material, however, was originally written in the 1960s but never recorded at the time. As the recording sessions progressed it became apparent that the strongest songs happened to be love songs so this is how the eventual album came about. The inspiration behind all the songs has been true life experience, covering the many different aspects of love. Each songs has its own story, such as Stargirl about the ghost of a girl who was murdered by her lover or Bound for the Baltic Sea, the story of a much-loved uncle, killed in the second world war before Meic was born. Sing a Song of Sadness was originally written for Marianne Faithfull although she never got to sing it. Instead, it got into the last five from which the British entry for the Eurovision song contest was selected in 1969 – Meic is happy to report that it didn’t make it! A newer song, Deep in my Heart was inspired by Meic’s close friend and rising star, Welsh vocalist Lleuwen who also provides backing vocals on Love Songs. Often described as “the Welsh Dylan”, Meic Stevens has enjoyed enduring popularity since the1960s. A native of Solva in Pembrokeshire he has always been an integral part of the Welsh music scene and writes and performs in Welsh as well as English. His 1972 song, the irresistibly catchy Y Brawd Houdini (The Brother Houdini) later became a live staple for Super Furry Animals and his psych-folk influence can indeed be heard in contemporary Welsh groups such as the aforementioned and Gorky’s Zygotic Mynci. Over the years this gifted composer, lyricist and guitarist has recorded many albums, mostly on SAIN and its sister label CRAI. In 2002, coinciding with his 60th birthday, Sain released Disgwyl Rhywbeth Gwell I Ddod, a triple CD anthology of his songs recorded between 1968 and 1979, now recognized as one of the true treasures of the Welsh rock scene. Meic still performs regularly throughout Wales and the rest of the UK and occasionally in France, particularly in Brittany where he is very popular and where he once lived, inspired by the food and wine and music of his Celtic cousins.

  1. Deep in my Heart - I Do Believe
  2. Bound for the Baltic Sea
  3. Stuck in the Middle
  4. Country Boy
  5. Still Waters
  6. Stargirl
  7. Big Black Betty
  8. Blue Sleep
  9. Talkin' to Myself
  10. Song of Sadness
  11. Ghosts of Solva
  12. I Don't Understand at All
  13. She Does Not Know I Have to Go
View full details