Skip to product information
1 of 1


Gwlad am byth

Gwlad am byth

Regular price £12.98 GBP
Regular price Sale price £12.98 GBP
Sale Sold out
Tax included.


‘Gwlad am Byth’ is a new album of Country songs by some of Wales’ leading artists. With nearly all tracks recorded especially for this collection, at Stiwdio Sain, the album was produced by Aled Wyn Hughes (Cowbois Rhos Botwnnog) and features a great line up of musicians as the ‘house’ band – Aled, together with Osian Huw Williams, Iwan Hughes and Gethin Griffiths, with contributions also by Euron Jones, Annette Bryn Parri and Carwyn Williams.
According to Dafydd Iwan, “it’s difficult to pinpoint the exact roots of American Country Music which has gained such a wide audience there, and which has also become so popular here in Wales. It is certainly a mix of many different kinds of Folk and Religious music, with the main focus being the fact that it belongs to the working class and unashamedly and openly conveys deep and personal feelings. To some, it might seem somewhat superficial and sentimental, but, at it’s best, it touches the heart and the soul like no other genre….On this album we have new songs by firm favourites John ac Alun, Doreen Lewis, Dylan a Neil and Iona and Andy, as well as more recent singer-songwriters, such as Dylan Morris, Welsh Whisperer and Gethin a Glesni. It was also important to feature other artists who are busy gigging in pubs and other venues across Wales, namely Dafydd Pantrod, Tudur Wyn, Jonathan Davies and Clive Edwards. And as the last contribution to the album we have Gwyneth Glyn, the singer-songwriter who always bridges the gap so well between Folk and Country. There are many other artists, and let’s hope for another album in 2023. But for now, enjoy this great, new collection of Country artists and songs”.

1 Mae Hiraeth yn Brifo – DYLAN MORRIS
2 Cyn i’r Haul Fynd i Lawr – IONA AC ANDY
3 Werth y Byd yn Grwn – DOREEN LEWIS
4 Falle Rhyw Ddydd – JOHN AC ALUN
5 Cân Neil – DYLAN A NEIL
6 Wrth fy Modd – JONATHAN DAVIES
7 Gwyn dy Fyd – TUDUR WYN
8 Rhywun Fel Ti – CLIVE EDWARDS
10 Nôl i Faes y Sioe – WELSH WHISPERER
11 Llongwr – GETHIN A GLESNI
12 Nico bach – GWYNETH GLYN

View full details