Sain Records

Fflur Dafydd - You Found Me Out

Fflur Dafydd - Rasal LL020

This week, novelist and singer-songwriter Fflur Dafydd releases her first ever English-language EP. Based on original songs from the album “Ffydd Gobaith Cariad,” (Faith Hope Love), “You Found me Out,” is the singer’s fifth release, and is a folk-inspired, melodic collection of 4 songs, influenced by the likes of John Martyn, James Taylor, and Nanci Griffith.

The EP features tracks that pay homage to the singer’s family members – the title track “You Found Me Out” is a tribute to the singer’s young daughter, while “Little Brother” is a song of childhood memory and sibling-hood. The collection includes the atmospheric love song “A girl who likes the winter”, as well as “Mountain Man,” a moving tribute to Ray Gravell, the rugby player and broadcaster, who was a great influence on Fflur.

Fflur Dafydd has been awarded many literary prizes for her novels, including the Prose Medal for Literature and the Oxfam Hay Emerging Writer of the Year Prize in 2009. She is the author of Twenty Thousand Saints and The White Trail as well as a number of Welsh language fiction titles. In 2012 her acclaimed novel Y Llyfrgell won the Fiction Bestseller Award in the Welsh Publishing awards. However, she is also an established musician in Wales and has performed in festivals worldwide. In 2010, she was named BBC Radio Cymru Female Artist of the Year for her breakthrough album “Byd Bach.”

“After receiving such positive feedback from Radio Wales after performing on a show bilingually, I thought it would be worthwhile to release the songs in English too. I think it’s very important to give people a second take on the song in translation,” Dafydd explains. “I’ve done the same thing with my novels to some extent, rewriting a Welsh-language novel in English with a different audience in mind, and I find that different languages bring out a different quality, or even a different theme in a piece of work, which make the versions very interesting to compare.”

Despite being a mum of two, Dafydd is busier than ever, and will be launching “You Found me Out” at the Hay Festival, where she appeared last year supporting Cerys Matthews to launch the Welsh version of the album. She is also the Hay festival’s International Hay Fellow for 2013-4, and will be appearing as novelist and musician in partner Hay festivals in Spain, India, Mexico, Colombia, and Budapest, performing her music in collaboration with the Welsh poet and novelist Owen Sheers.

Track Listing

  1. You Found Me Out
  2. Mountain Man
  3. Lammas St.
  4. All I See
  • Product ID : Rasal LL020
  • Label: Rasal
  • Genre: Pop / Rock
  • Format: Download
  • Released: 2013



My Basket

Items : 0 | Value : £0.00

Twitter @LabelRasal