Sain Records

Derwyddon Dr Gonzo - Stonk!

Derwyddon Dr Gonzo - CopaCD007

Dig out your fancy dress and party shoes

Dig out your fancy dress and get your dancing shoes for one of the funkiest albums to hit Wales. COPA is proud to announce Stonk!, the debut album from the fantastic Derwyddon Dr Gonzo. Stonk promises to be super fresh,super funky and fandabidozi!

After their success at this year’s BBC Radio Cymru Rock and Pop Awards, including winning the best live act, Derwyddon Dr Gonzo feel there’s a call for a party – and that celebration comes in the form of an album. Stonk is mad and funky showcasing 13 tracks, each one owning its right to stand proudly amongst the rest.

Many themes flow through the album creating an intense and bonkers feeling. KO and Madrach, heard before on a previous single release has an upbeat feel and in contradiction Bwthyn offers a mix of peculiar sexy disco and tender vocals by Gwyneth Glyn, a guest vocalist on the track. Raptil and What Goes Around are the band’s favourites, Ifan, the main vocalist, said, “By comparing to our previous single releases, these tracks are funkier and darker. A crew from London University are guest vocalists on What Goes Around and offer jollity and lunacy into the song.”

Besides Gwyneth Glyn and friends from London, many other guest vocalists make an appearance on the album, including Nobsta Nuts from the Headcase Ladz on No Pants Dance, Miriam Isaac on Shampw and the beatboxer and rapper Ed Holden (Mr Phormula) on KO. The band’s drummer, Cai Dyfan, said, “Collaborating with talented artists such as Gwyneth and Ed amongst others is a privilege to us and the partnership gives our music a new dimension. It’s also a nice surprise to the listener!”

Their first two singles were recorded by Dave Wrench at Bryn Derwen Studios in north Wales and the rest of the album was recorded by Sir Doufus Styles at the Wings for Jesus Studio in Cardiff.

Derwyddon Dr Gonzo captivate audiences wherever they go and perform a show that is a clever mix of funk, hip hop, jazz and electronica. Last year the band went down a storm at the Latitude Festival and got the crowd dancing like maniacs, even though most couldn’t understand the Welsh lyrics! This year,they are looking forward to another electric summer of festivals, especially headlining the last Saturday on Maesb at the National Eisteddfod in Bala. Ifan added, “We’re so excited, we can’t wait. We’ve been thinking of how to make it a huge show, come to the gig with goggles and old clothes… I’m not saying any more!”

Track Listing

  1. Dangos dy Wiwar
  2. K.O.
  3. Llacia dy Drôns
  4. No Pants Dance
  5. Chaviach
  6. Raptil
  7. Don't Stop
  8. Salsa Talsarna
  9. Bwthyn
  10. Tomi yn y Goedwig
  11. Shampŵ
  12. What Goes Around
  13. Madrach
  • Product ID : CopaCD007
  • Label: Copa
  • Genre: Pop
  • Format: Album
  • Released: 2009



My Basket

Items : 0 | Value : £0.00

Twitter @LabelCopa